Posted by: KG | Sunday, March 5, 2006

Installable Hardware

Was dusting my computer when I found my old Rockwell 56.6 Kbps modem. Now I use the one and only Dataone and its UTStarComm modem. Was just thinking, if only, we had upgradable hardware at different levels we could save so much. Before broadband, (Huh?) we had that old modem. BSNL asked me to buy a new modem for their connection. Had to dish out a fresh lump of money. Now the old modem is just trash.

What if the hardware were upgradable and installable like software? Just like say, windows update. Ofcourse, even software hasn’t reached the level that I am talking of. Obviously, Windows Vista comes in a new CD pack if you want to use it. It is a new installation.

So, what am I asking? Reconfigurable, Modular, Upgradable hardware. Hope that’s a clear wishlist. (If you think some of it already exists, then I am not satisfied with the current levels)


Leave a Reply

Categories

